Georgia and South Carolina travelers to New York could face a $2000 fine

Governor Andrew Cuomo announced Monday (July 13th) that travelers to New York from states that have high coronavirus infection levels will have to fill out a form providing their contact information before they leave the airport or face a $2,000 fine. Cuomo said, "You must give officials at the airport your form as to where you came from and where you are going before you leave the airport." Travelers arriving from high-infection states by other ways, such as by car or train, must fill out the form online. The move came after Cuomo, along with the governors of neighboring New Jersey and Connecticut, had already imposed two-week quarantine requirements on travelers from high-infection states. There are currently 19 states this applies to: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah. New York, once the epicenter of the outbreak, managed to reduce and keep its infection numbers low, and Cuomo wants to prevent a new surge from people traveling from high-infection states.

97.3 KISSFM · Savannah's #1 Hit Music Station

Listen Now on iHeartRadio

outbrain pixel